Provincial History

Freemasonry in the Isle of Man can be traced back to 1765 when the first Lodge met in Douglas under the Grand Lodge of Ireland.

Athole Lodge No 1004 was the first Manx lodge to meet under the United Grand Lodge of England in 1885. The Provincial Grand Lodge of the Isle of Man was inaugurated on Wednesday 29 September, 1886, in the Masonic Lodge Rooms, Loch Promenade, Douglas. A complete report of the proceedings appeared in the Isle of Man Times.

It is recorded that the visiting Grand Officers together with the Provincial Grand Master travelled by train to Ramsey on 30 September, 1886. They were met by the Worshipful Master, Officers and Brethren of St Maughold Lodge No 1075 and entertained to lunch at the Mitre Hotel. They then went for a ride via Lewaigue to the Church of St Maughold where they expressed great interest in the church and ancient crosses. Bro J. Craine, Organist, played the Hallelujah Chorus and the National Anthem.

IOM Provincial Grand Lodge Family Tree

Provincial Grand Masters

1886-1898 : Sir John Senhouse Goldie-Taubman,
Speaker of the House of Keys.

1899-1902 : The Right Honourable Lord Henniker,
Lieutenant Governor of the Isle of Man.

1902-1912 : The Right Honourable Sir Arthur Stanley.

1912–1919 : The Right Honourable Lord Raglan,
Lieutenant Governor of the Isle of Man.

1919–1931 : His Honour Deemster Frederic Malcolm La Mothe.

1931–1957 : His Honour Deemster Sir William Percy Cowley,

1957–1964 : The Venerable Ernest Henry Stenning, M.B.E.,
M.A., T.D., Archdeacon of the Isle of Man.
Chaplain to her Majesty, the Queen.

1964–1972 : His Honour Ramsey Gelling Johnson, OBE, CP, JP.

1972–1983 : His Honour Robert Kinley Eason, Barrister at Law,
Bachelor of Laws.

1983–1994 : His Worship the High Bailiff Henry William Callow.

1994–2003 : David George Gelling.

2003- 2010 : George Peake.

2010- 2020: Robert Keith Dalrymple.

2020- Present: Kenneth Martin Blackburn OStJ.

Provincial Contacts

Provincial Grand Secretary
Phil Taubman MBE,
Freemasons Hall, Woodbourne Road,
Douglas, Isle of Man IM2 3EE

Telephone: 01624 620656


Secretary of Freemasons Hall
Steve Whittam. e-mail:

Provincial Information Officer
Ron Corlett. e-mail